Introduction to Rajasthan – General Introduction to Rajasthan

Introduction to Rajasthan

Introduction to Rajasthan – General Introduction to Rajasthan

  • The first mention of the word Rajasthan is in the 7th century inscription of Basantgarh.
  • Basantgarh article is in Sirohi.
  • Marwar history writer Muhnaut Nainsi also used the word “Rajasthan” in his book “Nancy Ri Khyat” and in the 19th century Colonel James Tod used the word Rajasthan in his book “Annals and Antiquities of Rajasthan”.
  • Another name of this book is “Central and Western States of India”.
  • The first Hindi translation of the book was done by the famous historian of Rajasthan, Gorishankar- Hirachand Ojha.
  • It is called “Analysis of Ancient Rajasthan” in Hindi.
  • James Tod was a political agent in the Mewar (Udaipur) province between 1818–1821. He wrote history while sitting on his horse, hence Colonel James Dod is also known as “Ghode Wala Baba”.
  • Before Colonel James Tod, in 1800 AD, “George Thomas” gave the name of “Rajputana” for Rajasthan. It is mentioned in William Franklin’s book “Military Memory”.

Cultural Division of Rajasthan

  • Mewar – Udaipur, Rajsamad, Bhilwara, Chittorgarh, Pratapgarh
  • Marwar-Jodhpur, Nagaur, Pali, Bikaner, Jaisalmer, Barmer
  • Dhundar – Part of Jaipur, Dausa, Tonk and Ajmer
  • Hadoti – Kota, Bundi, Banra, Jhalawar
  • Shekhawati – Churu, Sikar, Jhunjhunu
  • Mewat – Alwar, Bharatpur
  • Bagad – Dungarpur, Banswara

The area of ​​Rajasthan is 3,42,239 sq. km. Is. Which is 10.41% of the country and in terms of area, Rajasthan ranks first in the country.

Chhattisgarh was formed from Madhya Pradesh on 1 November 2000 and from that day Rajasthan became the first state in the country in terms of area.

According to the 2011 census, the total population of Rajasthan is 6,86,21,012, which is 5.67 percent of the country’s population.

Rajasthan ranks seventh in the country in terms of population.

Aravalli ranges

In Rajasthan, the Aravalli mountain range passes through the middle, which divides Rajasthan into two parts, on one side of it is the western desert and on the other side the green plains. About 67% of Rajasthan is desert. Aravalli is the oldest mountain range in the world. Its total length is 692 km. m. and the highest peak is Guru Shikhar. The highest fort is situated on this mountain range.

Divisional system in Rajasthan

Jaipur Division

A total of 5 districts Jaipur, Sikar, Jhunjhunu, Alwar, Dausa are included in this division.
The area of ​​Jaipur division is 36615 square kilometer and the population of this division is 167.91 lakh according to the 2011 census. This is 24.43 percent of the total population of Rajasthan.
Jaipur division is the most populated, most literate, most scheduled caste population and most densely populated of all the divisions.

Jodhpur Division

This division includes 6 districts Jodhpur, Pali, Jalore, Sirohi, Barmer and Jaisalmer districts.
The area of ​​Jodhpur division is 117800 square kilometer. It covers 34.42 percent of the area of ​​Rajasthan.
The population of Jodhpur division is 11863 lakhs. which is Raj. of the population of 17.31. -Jodhpur division is the division with the largest area, highest decadal growth and lowest population density.

Bikaner Division

Bikaner division comprises of 4 districts namely Bikaner, Churu, Ganganagar and Hanumangarh. The total area of ​​Bikaner division is 64708 square kilometer and the total population is 81.47 lakh i.e. 11.89 percent of the population of Rajasthan. Bikaner division is also the division with the largest scheduled caste population and the least number of rivers.

Ajmer Division

Ajmer, Nagaur, Bhilwara and Tonk districts i.e. total four districts are included in this division. The area of ​​Ajmer division is 43848 square kilometer and the population is 97.21 (14.18 percent). Ajmer division is the central division of the state and its size is similar to that of Jammu and Kashmir.

Udaipur Division

This division also includes 6 districts Udaipur, Dungarpur, Banswara, Rajsamand, Pratapgarh and Chittorgarh. The total area of ​​Udaipur division is 36942 square kilometer and population is 98.23 (14.33%). Udaipur division has the most scheduled tribes, the highest sex ratio. The shape of this division is similar to that of Sri Lanka.

Kota Division

It consists of four districts namely Kota, Bundi, Jhalawar and Baran. The area of ​​this division is 24204 square kilometers and the population is 56.96 (8.31 percent). This division has minimum population and maximum number of rivers.

Bharatpur Division

This division comprises of four districts namely Bharatpur, Dholpur, Sarvaimadhopur and Karauli. This is the newest division. The area of ​​this division is 18122 (5.3 percent) square kilometers and the population is 65.49 (9.55 percent). It is the division with minimum area and lowest sex ratio.

Education Fact Home

Click Here

Education Update Home

Click Here

The Author

Chirag Suthar

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *